North Shields vs Shildon AFC

League Cup
April 30, 2016
Score: 4 - 6

Match Report

Shildon AFC Win Semi-Final

Shildon AFC travelled to North Shields on Saturday 30th April 2016 for the Northern League Cup Semi-Final, and what a game it turned out to be with the Railwaymen final victors, winning 4 – 2 on penalties after the scores were level after extra time.

This was a great advert for Northern League football with both teams creating chances in an end to end encounter.

Shildon scored possibly the fastest goal of the season after just 20 seconds when Anthony Bell beat three defenders and fired past keeper Chris Bannon.

Half Time:  North Shields  0  Shildon AFC  1

Just after the hour Shields Jack Donnison was through but Shildon keeper Lewis Graham made a great save.

A minute later Shildon’s Matty Robson headed off the line, before Shields were awarded a penalty which Lewis Graham saved from Ben Richardson.

Shield’s pressure finally paid off when Jack Devlin blasted into the roof of the net on 69 minutes.

It was end to end stuff with both teams creating good chances.

On 90+ minutes Shields Gary Ormston blasted over with the goal at his mercy.

Full Time:  North Shields  1  Shildon AFC  1

In extra time Mark Doinger put Shildon in front again from a Lewis Wing cross, only for Shield’s Ryan Carr to cancel the goal out with a powerful shot into the roof of the net.

Final Score:  North Shields  2  Shildon AFC  2  After extra time.

Shildon’s keeper Lewis Graham was the penalty shot hero save twice to put the Railwaymen through to the final for the second year.

Goalscorers:  Bell 1, Doninger 95.   Penalty takers:  Rae, Moore, Doninger, Wood

Subs:  Dodds for Bell 67, Rae for Connor 79, Doninger for Ellison 91.

Bookings:  (Y)  Wood 21, Bell 28, Ellison 89, Wing 97.

Man-of-the-Match:  Lewis Graham.

After the match manager Gary Forrest said “We were a different team today after our game against Newton Aycliffe. Our attitude was great. It was a terrific game and a fantastic advert for local football”.


Venue Information

Daren Persson Stadium


vs Yellow Card
Billy Greulich-Smith
Daniel Moore
vs Yellow Card
vs Yellow Card
Matty Robson
vs Goal


vs Sub
vs GoalSub
vs Sub